Solving Diffuse Light Simulation with Double Integral Equation?

In summary, the conversation discusses a program being developed to simulate diffuse light and the need to solve a specific equation involving W, T, and L. The speaker is new to differential and integral equations and is seeking help. A possible solution is suggested involving discretizing the equation and using linear algebra solvers like BLAS or LAPACK. This method can handle large matrix dimensions.
Luonnos
Recently, I've been working on a program to simulate diffuse light, and I've hit a snag. I need to solve (at least so that a computer can compute L(x) quickly) something of the form:

[tex]
L(x)=T(x)+c\int_0^{l_2}\int_0^{l_1} W(x,u_1,u_2) L(u_1) du_1 du_2
[/tex]

W and T are pretty well behaved, and I can compute them and their integrals in a small amount of time. I'm pretty new to differential and integral equations, so any help would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you discretize this on a computer, then L will be a column vector with dimension equal to the number of grid points. First, you should be able to integrate out u2, since L is a function only of u1. Then I think you can write your equation as follows, where L and T are column vectors, c is a constant, I is the identity matrix, and W is a square matrix:
[tex]L = T + c W L[/tex]
[tex](I-c W) L = T[/tex]
[tex]L = (I-c W)^{-1} T [/tex]
Then you can use a linear algebra solver like BLAS or LAPACK to solve for L. These will find solutions even if the matrix dimensions are on the order of 1000's x 1000's.

Related to Solving Diffuse Light Simulation with Double Integral Equation?

1. What is a double integral equation?

A double integral equation is a mathematical expression that involves the integration of a function of two variables over a two-dimensional region. It is written in the form of ∬f(x,y)dA, where f(x,y) represents the function being integrated and dA represents the differential area element.