Solve second order ode with Green function

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the Green's function for a problem involving a linear differential operator. The Green's function is defined as a function that satisfies certain boundary conditions and allows for the solution of the problem to be expressed in terms of integrals. The conversation also includes a detailed explanation of how to find the Green's function and ultimately provides the solution to the problem.
the king
I had made a post in the past about the same problem and unfortunately I wasn't clear enough
so I am trying again.

I am studying an article and there I found without any proof that the solution of:
Let ##g \in \mathbb{C}## and let ##u:(0,\infty)\to \mathbb{C}##
$$ -u''+\lambda^2u=f\,\, on \,(0,\infty);\quad u(0)=g,\quad \lim_{x\to\infty}u(x)=0,$$
is given by using a Green's function and it is the following:

For $$z\in (0,\infty),$$
##u(z)=\frac{1}{2\lambda^2}\Bigl(e^{-\lambda z}\int_{0}^{\lambda z}e^yf(y/\lambda)dy+e^{\lambda z}\int_{\lambda z}^{\infty}e^{-y}f(y/\lambda)dy-
e^{-\lambda z}\int_{0}^{\infty}e^{-y}f(y/\lambda)dy\Bigr)+ge^{-\lambda z}.##

I would be very grateful if someone explain me how can green's function be find for this problem, because I am interested to find a respectively solution for the problem,

$$ -u''+\lambda^2u'=f\,\, on \,(0,\infty);\quad u(0)=g,\quad \lim_{x\to\infty}u(x)=0.$$

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you not have the definition of the "Green's function"? That's really all you need.

The Green's function for linear differential operator L(f), on [itex](0, \infty)[/itex] is the function G(x,t) such that
L(G(x,t))= 0 for every t.
G(x,t) is continuous for all x, t.
The derivative of G(x, t), with respect to x, is continuous for x< t and continuous for x> t but has a step discontinuity of 1 at x= t.
G(0, t)= 0 and [itex]\lim_{x\to\infty} G(x, t)= 0[/itex].