Solidworks Modeling Help: Geodesic Dome Pentagons, Hexagons, Struts

In summary, I am new to modeling and am trying to draw a geodesic dome consiting of pentagons with 30degree stuts at each point forming a hexagon. The final strut joining the 2 pentagons is not lining up and is too short. Everything is equal and symetrical.
Byron C
I am new to modeling and am trying to draw a geodesic dome consiting of pentagons with 30degree stuts at each point forming a hexagon. The final strut joining the 2 pentagons is not lining up and is too short. Everything is equal and symetrical. What is going on? Should they line up?

Attachments

• Dome copy.jpg
    Dome copy.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 778
Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm not 100% familiar with solidworks, but are you actually placing the struts, etc? My attempt would be to create the "rings" seperately. Then (in Unigraphics) I would bring them in each as a different components in am assembly. From there rather than specifying a position/angle, you can simply give the edges and points constraints. So, rather than edge 10 being connected to point 56 at a 15.223634532°, its just connected to these points. It should force the angles and everything by itself if you constrain it properly.

at least that's what I would try to do.

Moderators,

Am I permitted to refer the OP to another forum? I'm not in any way promoting the site I would refer him to, but this is close to a world class problem due to a bug/quirk/interesting feature in SolidWorks which causes loss of mates in problems like this.

I know how to do this using the "use a larger hammer" method, but I think the OP really wants a more elegant solution than that. Some of the User Group gurus have dealt with this and should be able to help him.

Last edited: