Sketching surfaces described in cylindrical coordinates

In summary, the conversation discusses sketching the intersection of a surface described by the equation ##(r-2)^2 + z^2 = 1## in cylindrical coordinates with the half-plane ##θ= π/2##. The conversation explores the shape of the surface and its horizontal cross sections, eventually determining that it is a torus. The concept of a ##zr## plane is also discussed, which is used to locate points on the surface.
toforfiltum

Homework Statement

The surface is described by the equation ## (r-2)^2 + z^2 = 1 ## in cylindrical coordinates. Assume ## r ≥ 0 ##.
a) Sketch the intersection of this surface with the half plane ## θ= π/2 ##

Homework Equations

## r= psin φ ##
## p^2 = r^2 + z^2 ##

The Attempt at a Solution

First off, I'm new to cylindrical coordinates, so I don't really know how to work with equations given in these coordinates. Following the few examples given in my textbook, I tried to convert this equation into another involving Cartesian or spherical coordinates. I converted to spherical ones. The result I got was:
## p^2 =4p sinφ -3 ##
The term ## 4p sinφ## is giving me a problem because I don't know how to express the equation in terms of p only. I can't factorise, etc.

Am I starting in the right way at all? Any hints on how to proceed? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Before you think about the half-plane, work out what shape the surface described by the equation is.
Think about its horizontal cross sections. To get a horizontal cross section we fix ##z##. What two-dimensional shape does the equation describe if ##z## is fixed rather than a variable? Bear in mind that it will be the set of all points with polar coordinates ##(r,\theta)## that obey that equation.