Signal dimmed LED's without passing current back to the signal source

In summary, you should not short out the channels on a LED strip by placing the signal and ground between the controller and the ground on the LED strip.
ThePoloHobo
Hello!

I am a bassist in a rock band and I hace slight issue with trying to rig up this

"this"

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811992011

LED Controller to do its color changing awesomeness while pulsating with what is coming out of an output on my amp (which is a "hot" and ground wire). Is there a way I can send this signal through to the LED's without running current through back to my amp? My LED strip ends look something like this:
B G R +
| | | |

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi TPH. Welcome to Physics Forums. :smile:

What do you mean by "to the LED's without running current through back to my amp"? And can you explain why you'd prefer not to have to do this?

The signal I'll be using to make LED's pulse is coming from a pre-amp out on the back of the amp. I don't want any power from the LED controller to go back into the preamp. circuitry

ThePoloHobo said:
The signal I'll be using to make LED's pulse is coming from a pre-amp out on the back of the amp. I don't want any power from the LED controller to go back into the preamp. circuitry
The way electronics works is that what comes out of one box must return to that box. It won't come out if it can't get back. Usually the return path is through a wire called "ground" that connects all boxes, so it's a common ground. So I'd expect you'll need 4 connecting wires, R, Y, B, and ground.

If everything is working properly, no more current will return to the preamp than left it. That should not be a problem, especially when that is how it has been designed.

I looked over the instruction manual, and I don't see any way to externally modulate the LEDs.