Should I be a physicist or mathematician?

In summary, the conversation is about a high school student who enjoys theorizing about math and physics but does not enjoy repetitive math. They are seeking advice on which field, physics or mathematics, has less repetitive problems and more challenging problems. The expert advises not to choose a major based solely on this factor and to explore both fields in higher-level classes. They also suggest looking ahead at textbooks but acknowledge that some grind-work is necessary in both fields.
onamatapia
I'm a sophomore in high school. I'm taking pre-cal right now. I really enjoy theorizing about both math and physics, but what I don't like is endlessly repeating simple math that I already know how to do. I'd enjoy using some of that to help solve complex problems, but I do not enjoy doing simple repetitive math for it's own ends. Which of the two, physicist or mathematicians, does less repetetive problems and does more challenging problems?

Physics news on Phys.org
my advice would be look for cheap (probably 2nd hand) textbooks above your course syllabus and try work though them.

Something i wish I have done

Who cares? Just do something that you like and chances are you will change your career.

Don't choose your major based on "repetitive problems". You're still in HS, there are a lot of mathematics and physics you haven't encountered.

onamatapia said:
Which of the two, physicist or mathematicians, does less repetetive problems and does more challenging problems?

Both change dramatically as you progress through university. Don't judge them from any courses in high-school. However, I would say that (Pure) Mathematics changes a bit more radically than Physics (others may disagree). The only way you will know what you enjoy is to try them both and get to higher-level classes. Some grind-work is going to be required regardless of the route you take.