Self-Studying ODE: Is It Possible in 4 Weeks?

In summary, the individual is seeking recommendations for a book to prepare for a proficiency exam in their university's version of ODE. They prefer a balance of rigor and ease of reading and have a background in Calculus 2 and 3. They also mention needing a good base for fluid mechanics and heat transfer. Multiple books are recommended, including an older edition of Edwards&Penney, Zill's An Introduction to Differential Equations with Boundary Problems, and a course on edx.org. The individual is considering taking the class for $1,200 but is concerned about learning the material through a "cookbook" approach. They have self-taught other math subjects and are considering studying the assignments and tests from the actual class. It is
gstroot
Hey all,

I want to try and pass a proficiency exam for my universities version of ode. Here (http://www.math.uiuc.edu/Bourbaki/Syllabi/syl285_edwards-penney.html). What book would you all recommend? (I prefer rigor, but also like ease of read if there is a good middle ground).

I will only have 4 weeks to study at the beginning of summer. I will also be working, but I can still dedicate at least 15 hours a week and upwards of 25. Also I've self studied book of proof by Richard hammock and kleppner and kolenkow introduction to mechanics. I've not struggled with any concept in Calc 2 or 3 and I love math as a whole. Just to give a bearing for how I may handle the material.

Do you think it's possible to do this while understanding the material? I need a good base for fluid mechanics and heat transfer, but I'd like to save $1200 by testing out if at all possible.

Physics news on Phys.org