Schroedinger's Equation for Electromagnetic field induced by charged wire

In summary, it is possible to use quantum mechanics to study the classical problem of an induced magnetic field from a charged wire, known as the Aharonov-Bohm effect. This effect is discussed in various papers and books, and may be relevant for your research in computer vision.
opticalnectar
Greetings all!

I'm completely new to Quantum Mechanics (my PhD research is in Computer Vision) and I am planning to apply some concepts to my research.

I would like to know whether it's possible to get the Wave Equation over the components of a [itex]\mathbf{B}=(B_\phi,B_r,B_z)[/itex] field induced by a straight infinite wire charged with current density [itex]\mathbf{j}[/itex]. I.e [itex]\Psi(B_\phi,B_r, B_z)[/itex]. Basically I want the quantum solution to the classical problem of finding the induced B field by a charged wire of infinite length.

Is this something heard of? If so does anyone have a reference/lead?

I'm assuming QED deals with particles that enter such electromagnetic fields and the wave function is over the postion/impulse of the particles and not the field components at a particular position. Is this correct?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello there!

It is definitely possible to use quantum mechanics to study the classical problem of an induced magnetic field from a charged wire. This is known as the Aharonov-Bohm effect, where the wave function of a charged particle is affected by the magnetic field even if it is located in a region where the magnetic field is zero. In this case, the wave function would depend on the components of the magnetic field at a particular position.