Schroedinger equation and random walks

• Thread starter PatrickPowers
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Random
In summary: Maybe we can find a suitable random Poisson process. I don't think it will make much difference, because the number of random steps can be made large. So, allow a large number of steps between any two points. Then we can get continuity in any finite interval. Also, I don't think we need the propagator. We just need to get the right velocity distribution, and we can work that out.In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of using a random walk to derive the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle and other phenomena in quantum mechanics. The Wiener process is mentioned as the basis for the rigorous path integral formulation of quantum mechanics. There is a suggestion to look into stochastic quantization and
PatrickPowers
I have a masters degree in probability and statistics but am new to quantum physics. I have been reading an elementary text about the Schroedinger equation and I keep thinking that the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle could emerge from a random walk that has the characteristic that as the interval of time gets smaller the momentum becomes increasingly uncertain. The random walk would be like a fractal, except while a fractal has the same level of detail at all levels our random walk would have more detail and be more jagged the more closely one looks at it. It does this without bound, so it is divergent. So integrating in the dt way in which variation over tiny units of time is assumed to be smooth is going to work reasonably well but somewhat oddly, thus giving rise to the uncertainty principle and all this other phenomena.