Scenario allowing a signal to travel at superluminous speeds?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of special relativity and Einstein's second postulate, which states that no particle can exceed the speed of light. The question posed is whether a system of gears, with no loss of momentum and following Newton's third law, could transmit a signal instantly regardless of distance. However, it is explained that this is not possible due to the speed of sound in the material and the limitations of relativity.
TheGoodDoctor
Hi, new here. I'm a physics major undergraduate and just got through a class dealing with special relativity. I also learned about it a bit in high school.

My question is regarding Einstein's second postulate that, paraphrased, grants that no particle can be accelerated to a speed greater than c. But I've been thinking and came up with a scenario where you have a string of gears all arranged together. That is, you have one gear, like a sprocket, engaged to another gear to it's right and another to its right and so on until you have millions of gears that span some great distance, like the circumference of the Earth. What happens when you torque the first gear in the series?

Assuming these gears are "ideal", meaning there is no loss of momentum between the teeth of contact of two adjacent gears, and assuming Newton's 3rd law to be accurate in this case (relativity would agree, considering each gear would rotate at a relatively small angular velocity), wouldn't each gear move completely in sync, in effect rotating the final gear at the same instant the first gear is torqued? Doesn't this allow a signal to be transmitted instantly between two points regardless of the distance separating, as long as such a system is in place? Doesn't this imply the signal moves at a speed v=infinite?