Research Poll: Public Support for a Nuclear Powered Aeroplane

In summary, Dawson S is a student from Australia completing a research project on the feasibility of a nuclear-powered airplane. He will present his project at the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminars in December. He is seeking opinions from different community groups and has asked for votes and comments. Some respondents are open to the idea of a nuclear-powered airplane, while others have concerns about safety and feasibility. Overall, there is divided opinion on the topic.

With dwindling fossil fuels, would you fly on/endorse a nuclear-powered plane?

• Total voters
dawson300
Hi,

My name is Dawson S and I'm a student from Australia. I'm currently completing a research project into the modern-day feasibility of a nuclear-powered aeroplane (as first suggested in the Cold War). I am to deliver this project in December at the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminars where I will attend the Nobel Prize ceremonies.

I am interested in poll results from different community groups and as such I have approached this forum. Please vote above and comment below should you have any strong opinions. I only require opinions; I already have all of the scientific data I require for my project (this is one of the last sections I am to complete).

Voting is to be done with any information you can muster, not information I provide.

Thank-you for your help

Physics news on Phys.org
If the proper safety procedures were in place and evidence suggested it was safe I'd be fine with it.

It's not feasible. The shielding alone makes it uneconomical.

No problem with nuclear. But how would you get such a thing into the wild blue younder?

I think you have a problem here with people saying it won't work, but if it were feasible they would fly on it.