Relationship between group theory and particle physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between abstract algebra and particle physics, particularly the groups SU(n) and SO(n). The concept of unitary matrices is explained, along with the dimension of SU(n) and its relationship to symmetry. The conversation also touches on the connection between these concepts and phenomena in modern particle physics, such as spin and color charges. It is suggested to reference additional resources to understand these concepts further.
Ulagatin
I'm just a year 12 student with an interest in mathematics and physics, but I have a question (or rather a few) for particle physicists/mathematicians out there.

I have read a little about abstract algebra - to about the extent of knowing the definition of a group, its relationship to symmetry and such - and I came across the group SU(n), which I understand to have a relationship with the standard model of particle physics with particular values of n. I have read a little on SU(n), enough to find that it is a group of n*n unitary matrices where the determinant is 1. In this sense, first of all, what is a unitary matrix? I understand the concept of a determinant. I also have read that SU(n) has dimension [tex]n^2 - 1[/tex]. I do not follow this argument however. If the group is defined by n*n matrices, how can the group have this number of dimensions?

What is the relationship, if any, between SU(n) and SO(n) - the latter which I understand (if I am not mistaken) to be the group of rotations of n-space about axes through the origin of [tex]\Re^n[/tex] (a fairly abstract but understandable concept)? And how do these concepts explain phenomena in modern particle physics? I believe it is down to symmetry. but, symmetry of what? I understand (but may be far off) that it is "symmetry operations" that create a group, and so, I am asking what these operations are, and what the symmetry itself is.