Recommend a textbook about differential equations

In summary, a textbook about differential equations can be recommended for those who want to study it on their own. For those who want more of a guide, I recommend the Edwards and Penney book and for absolute beginners the Leighton book.
princeton118
Can someone recommend a textbook about differential equations?
I am going to study it by myself, so I need a good textbook!
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems , 8th Edition, by William E. Boyce (Author), Richard C. DiPrima (Author)

I had it for my intermediate DE class. I think it's a really good book that not only covers the absolute basics but covers some useful intermediate stuff. It's well written and there is a solutions manual available, which if you are studying this independently, is by far very useful. I liked it b/c it had a lot of useful examples in it, and some interesting applications.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/0471433381/?tag=pfamazon01-20

If you want an extremely introductory book, I used the Edwards and Penney DE book for baby-DE which also has a solutions manual available.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/0136006132/?tag=pfamazon01-20

I just thought that the Boyce book was better written and covered more material.

Last edited by a moderator:
What is your goal when doing DEs? If it's just being able to look at a DE and say "oh this fits this category therefore to solve it I need to use ..." then you should REA Problem Solvers - Differential Equations. It does pretty much just that. Each chapter addresses a certain form of a DE in theoretical terms (about 2-3 pages) and how to solve it (by doing 30 pages of problems with detailed solutions). They also have a little chapter about PDEs and other random topics. It's fairly cheap.

For absolute beginners I recommend