Raising and lowering operators on a simple harmonic oscillator

In summary, The first equation is the hamiltonian for the harmonic oscillator and you can use the commutator to get from the first line to the second.
qualal

Homework Statement

Hi, I'm currently studying for a quantum mechanics exam but I am stuck on a line in my notes:

[tex]Ha\left|\Psi\right\rangle =\hbar\omega\left(a^{t}a a + \frac{a}{2}\right)\left|\Psi\right\rangle[/tex][tex]Ha\left|\Psi\right\rangle =\hbar\omega\left(\left(a a^{t} - 1\right)a + \frac{a}{2}\right)\left|\Psi\right\rangle[/tex]
Where H is the harmonic oscillator hamiltonian

[tex]H = \frac{P^{2}}{2m} + \frac{1}{2}m\omega^{2} x^{2}[/tex]and [tex] a, a^{t}[/tex] are the lowering and raising operators respectively.

[tex] a^{t} = \frac{1}{\sqrt{2\hbar m \omega}}\left(m \omega x - i p\right)[/tex]

[tex] a= \frac{1}{\sqrt{2\hbar m \omega}}\left(m \omega x + i p\right)[/tex]

The part I don't understand is how they got from [tex] a^{t}a a[/tex] to [tex]\left(a a^{t} - 1\right)a [/tex]

I'm not afraid of doing a bit of calculating but I really need a hint as to what method I should use.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Are you sure your first equation is correct?

The Hamiltonian has one of two forms

[tex]H=\hbar\omega(aa^t-1/2)[/tex]

[tex]H=\hbar\omega(a^ta+1/2)[/tex]

Whichever form you use, if you tack on an extra at on the right, you don't end up with what you have. Check your notes farther up.

Apologies I mistyped when I wrote

[tex]Ha^{t}\left|\Psi\right\rangle[/tex]

I meant to say [tex]Ha\left|\Psi\right\rangle[/tex]

does this make more sense now?

It now looks just like your second hamiltonian multiplied by "a" to me.

Now that you got the first line right, you can get from the first to the second line using the commutator

[tex][a, a^t]=1[/tex]

thanks so much! this has been bothering me all day!

I used [tex]\left[ a,a^{t}\right]= a a^{t}-a^{t} a =1[/tex]

and re-arranged to get

[tex] a a^{t}-1=a^{t} a [/tex]