Questions Concerning The Planck Epoch

• Thread starter Stan Stuchinski
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Planck
In summary: So anything you say about what happened at the end of the Planck epoch would be based on a shaky foundation.
Stan Stuchinski
Questions Concerning The Planck Epoch​

I must begin this thread with an apology.

I am NOT a physicist nor astronomer; in fact, my degree is in biology. However, for decades I have had a deep interest in what is commonly referred to as Big Bang Cosmology and have an “educated layman’s” knowledge and appreciation for this field.

My eventual goal is to establish a “best-guess” or “theoretically-acceptable” step-by-step chronology of the Big Bang. I have found WikiPedia’s Chronology of the Universe to be an extremely useful starting point. However, a number of areas in their Chronology are in need of clarification for my humble intellect. In addition, in cross referencing WikiPedia’s information with other sources, both on and off the Internet, I have found that there exists no consensus of opinion regarding certain data and concepts. I am hoping that the intellect and benevolence of the members of this forum will see fit to display a little patience and assist me in my understanding.

So allow me to begin at the beginning… with the Planck Epoch:

Five Basic Parameters of the Planck Epoch (Time 0 to 10^-43 second)

PARAMETER ONE: Time
Time at BEGINNING of Epoch: 0
Time at END of Epoch: 10^-43 second (1 Planck Time)

PARAMETER TWO: DIAMETER
Diameter of Universe at BEGINNING of Epoch: 0
Diameter of Universe at END of Epoch: 10^-35 m (1 Planck Length)

PARAMETER THREE: TEMPERATURE
Temperature at BEGINNING of Epoch: ∞
Temperature at END of Epoch: 10^32 K (Planck Temperature)

PARAMETER FOUR: MASS
Mass at BEGINNING of Epoch: ∞
Mass at END of Epoch: 10^19 GeV (Planck Mass)

PARAMETER FIVE: DENSITY
Density at BEGINNING of Epoch: ∞
Density at END of Epoch: 10^97 g/m3 (Planck Density)