Question about problem solving approach to Gauss' Law

In summary, the conversation discussed different methods for finding the volume of a sphere using Gauss's Law. The first method involved taking the volume of a larger sphere and subtracting the volume of a smaller sphere, while the second method involved using the formula (4/3) * PI * (r)^3 - (4/3) * PI * (R1)^3. The second method was deemed correct because (x-y)^3 is not the same as x^3-y^3.
RoboNerd

Homework Statement

Hi, I am studying gauss's law via this book below.[/B]
http://faculty.polytechnic.org/cfle...2_web_pdfs_2010/i-Ch14-PCALC--GAUSS'S LAW.pdf

On page 8, and 9, the book describes the shell method of finding the volume of the sphere and then using the area charge density to find the charge.

I tried it a different method:

volume of a sphere is (4/3) * PI * R^3, so I wrote that the volume was (4/3) * PI * (r-R1)^3.
This makes sense to me: I take the volume of the larger sphere and subtract the volume of the smaller sphere with radiuses "r" and "R1" accordingly.

Could anyone please explain to me why my method is wrong, as I got a totally different answer?

Thank you!

Homework Equations

gauss's law

The Attempt at a Solution

attempt is recorded above[/B]

Physics news on Phys.org
is it because of the linear function of the charge density?

RoboNerd said:
(4/3) * PI * (r-R1)^3.
That does not give you the difference in volume between two spheres. It gives you the volume of a sphere of radius r-R1.

ohh I should have done(4/3) * PI * (r)^3 -
(4/3) * PI * (R1)^3.

yes?

RoboNerd said:
ohh I should have done(4/3) * PI * (r)^3 -
(4/3) * PI * (R1)^3.

yes?
Yes.

So why could I have not done the first method? Why is it wrong?

RoboNerd said:
So why could I have not done the first method? Why is it wrong?
Because (x-y)3 is not the same as x3-y3.

OK, thanks!

Related to Question about problem solving approach to Gauss' Law

1. What is Gauss' Law and why is it important?