Question about alpha, the fine structure constant

In summary, according to this article, the gravitational coupling constant alphaG is very small and it is also true that gravity is incredibly weak compared to the other fundamental forces. However, it has been conjectured that the energy scale at which QED breaks down may be the same as the gravitational interaction is no longer negligible. This would suggest that there might be a relationship between gravity and the fine-structure constant. However, this conjecture has not been supported by any widely studied theory.
Rebound
I understand that it's been determined to have a very small value. At the same time, it is also true that gravity is incredibly weak compared to the other fundamental forces. What I'm wondering whether there might be some relationship between them?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert on physical constants, but I don't think we KNOW of any direct relation between them.

At:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gravitational_coupling_constant

they explain the gravitational coupling constant and say:

αG is to gravitation what the fine-structure constant is to electromagnetism and quantum electrodynamics

while the fine structure constant is explained here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fine_structure_constant

Note there are no common terms, no apparent joint dependency.