Punch Down Blocks (Telephony or Ethernet Cables)

In summary, a punch down block is a quick and easy way to connect wiring. They are often used as patch panels, breakout boxes for PBXs, or as a central point for organizing twisted pair wiring.
Newtons Apple
I hope this is the right area of this.. Guys, I need to know... what does a Punchdown block do? I see these in wiring closets, where the telephone or ethernet cable is flayed open, and the wires inside are stuck into the blades of the block. I'm studying for the Network+ exams, and they mention punchdown blocks for 66 and 110 styles, but I can't find a straight answer to tell me what they do, and how they are used and most importantly, what's the point of them. Any help would be appreciated. I've read the wiki, and I can't seem to get a reasoning on WHY we use them

Engineering news on Phys.org
From Wikipedia.org

Punch down blocks are a very quick and easy way to connect wiring, as there is no stripping of insulation and no screws to loosen and tighten. Punch down blocks are often used as patch panels, or as breakout boxes for PBX or other similar key phone systems ...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Punch_down_block

Also see: 66 Block and 110 Block

Look I already said in my post that I had read the wiki and I need some one to explain it. Not to rant here... and I know I"m the one coming to you to ask you of your time, but people posting wiki's as answers shouldn't be allowed. We all know wikipedia, but sometimes the language isn't as clear. It's easy to just copy and paste a wiki link.

Uh ... what part of

Punch down blocks are a very quick and easy way to connect wiring, as there is no stripping of insulation and no screws to loosen and tighten. Punch down blocks are often used as patch panels, or as breakout boxes for PBX or other similar key phone systems ...

do you not understand?