Projectiles 3D. Working with forces like wind

In summary, the conversation is about a research project on crossbow systems. The person is currently studying using articles from two sources, but is looking for more information on external factors that may affect the arrow's orientation, range, and velocity. They also request recommendations for a free software to simulate these types of projectiles.
eXniTheR
Hello! I'm doing a research work about projectiles and i thought of crossbow system. I am currently studying using these articles: http://ciencia.hsw.uol.com.br/framed.htm?parent=crossbow.htm&url=http://www.stortford-archers.org.uk/medieval.htm
and
http://science.howstuffworks.com/crossbow1.htm

So far i have understand how it works, but none of both sites talks about external factors such wind and other forces that may disturb the arrow orientation and though its range and velocity... So, can you please provide any more information about it? Also, if you have a nice free software so i can simulate this kind of projectiles, i would appreciate it very much :)

Thank you! :D

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Please? :(

Hello there! It's great to hear that you are interested in studying projectiles and their behavior in 3D space. Crossbow systems are fascinating tools that have been used for centuries, and understanding how external forces can affect their performance is an important aspect of their design and use.

When it comes to external forces such as wind, there are a few key factors to consider in relation to projectiles. First, the direction and strength of the wind can significantly affect the trajectory of the projectile. The wind can create a force that pushes the projectile off course, causing it to deviate from its intended path. This can also impact the range and velocity of the projectile, as the wind can either help or hinder its movement.