Planet formation vs Sun collapse

In summary: This model explains why our solar system has planets in stable orbits and why no other star system appears to have planets in stable orbits - planets lose energy over time and move into a less stable orbit.
vikasagartha
I understand how conservation of momentum leads to planet formation and planet rotation. However, after studying this model, I have ran into a point of confusion that I cannot find the answer to:

Why don't the planets collapse into the sun just as dust particles collapsed inward via conservation of angular momentum to form the planets in the first place? What distinguishes the two situations?

My two potential theories (pardon any silly answers, I am an amateur):

* The velocity, size, distance, etc of the planets are just right that they stay in that equilibrium.
* The accretion process stopped after the sun reached some set stage. Perhaps study the stages of the sun?

Thanks in advance!

Astronomy news on Phys.org
The collapse in radial direction (along the disk radius) stops as soon as the velocity is sufficient to give orbits around the central mass.
The accretion process stopped after the sun reached some set stage.
Right.
The velocity, size, distance, etc of the planets are just right that they stay in that equilibrium.
"Every" orbit around a star is stable, if the planet does not hit anything (significant) on its path.

Hmm. I am a little confused. Some of the reading that I am doing online is showing me something more like this:

A protostar accretes mass until it reaches an equilibrium. Equilibrium can be explained in the following manner:

1. Gravity pulls gas and dust into the core.
2. The core gets hotter as gas density increases and thereby the rate of gas atom collisions increases.
3. When the gas pressure = gravity, the accretion process stops.

vikasagartha said:
Hmm. I am a little confused. Some of the reading that I am doing online is showing me something more like this: