PIC Programmer Advice: Find the Best One for Your Project

• Thread starter zak8000
  • Start date
In summary, you need a PIC programmer which includes a usb port to connect the computer and install the software to the PIC.
zak8000
hello

i have been learning about micro-controllers for about a month now and i have started my own private projects using them. at the moment i am using a PIC micro controller for a alarm clock which is programmed in C. I have ordered the parts and designed the pcb but i have had some problems trying to find out how to upload my program which is compiled using mikroC PRO to my micro-controller. i found that all you need is to upload the .HEX file to the micro-controller once the build is successful is this correct?

then if this is correct you need a PIC programmer which includes a usb port to connect the computer and install the software to the PIC. but since i am new to this i was wondering what would be a good PIC programmer to buy please advise if you have experience using micro controllers

Engineering news on Phys.org
not being totally familiar with pic, I found this article on wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PIC_microcontroller

They mention the PickIt2 open source tools as the best set to use.

From your description, it looks like you must compile your source program in PIC language into
a .hex file on your development computer and then use another tool to copy the .hex file to the microcontroller eprom. The copying program would also run on your development computer and connect to the microcontroller via a USB cable.

Does that sound right?

Also have you checked out Arduino? that platform is getting very popular too with a lot of DIY projects and books.