PhD school is ranked lower than undergrad

In summary, the individual is an undergrad at a high-ranking university with an acceptable GPA and limited research experience. They are concerned about their chances of getting into a PhD program at a similarly ranked institution. They also question how important their last institution will be for job prospects, both in academia and in industry. They mention that for academia, grades and research are more important than the institution attended.
I am an undergrad at a pretty high ranking university, my GPA is acceptable but not phenomenal, and my research history, while it's there, is not phenomenal either. I don't think I will be able to get into a PhD program anywhere close to the ranking of my current institution. But I do want to do PhD because I enjoy research.

For job prospects after PhD, how true is the idea that my last institution is the most important one, and if it is significantly worse than my penultimate institution, it is seen as bad?

Physics news on Phys.org
You are talking about job prospects for being a professor? In that case, I think many have come from higher ranked universities.

For industry jobs its probably more important that your research is relevant to the industry.

Generally, no, it won't be seen as "bad". The things that really matter for prospective hirers in academia, more so than what institution you attend(ed), is your grades and research.

Related to PhD school is ranked lower than undergrad

What is the reason for PhD school being ranked lower than undergrad?

The ranking of a university or program is based on various factors such as research output, faculty reputation, and student selectivity. PhD programs usually have a smaller student population and focus more on research rather than undergraduate programs which have a larger number of students and offer a wider range of courses.

Does this mean a PhD degree is less valuable than an undergraduate degree?