Perfect Sets in R^k are uncountable

• MHB
  • Thread starter Math Amateur
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sets
In summary: The set $U$ of all these neighborhoods forms a continous subset of $\Bbb{R}^{k}$.This means that $U$ has a finite intersection with $V_{n}$, since for every $u\in U$ there exists a ball centered at $u$ with radius $r_{u}$, such that $u\in V_{n}$. So by the definition of $U$ being open, $U\cap V_{n}$ does not exist."
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Walter Rudin's book, Principles of Mathematical Analysis.

Currently I am studying Chapter 2:"Basic Topology".

I am concerned that I do not fully understand the proof of Theorem 2.43 concerning the uncountability of perfect sets in \(\displaystyle R^k\).

Rudin, Theorem 2.43 reads as follows:
View attachment 3806

In the above proof, Rudin writes:

"Let \(\displaystyle V_1\) be any neighbourhood of \(\displaystyle x_1\). If \(\displaystyle V_1\) consists of all \(\displaystyle y \in R^k\) such that \(\displaystyle | y - x_1 | \lt r\), the closure \(\displaystyle \overline{V_1}\) of \(\displaystyle V_1\) is the set of all \(\displaystyle y \in R^k\) such that \(\displaystyle | y - x_1 | \le r\)."

Now, I am assuming that the above two sentences that I have quoted from Rudin's proof are a recipe or formula to be followed in constructing \(\displaystyle V_2, V_3, V_4\), and so on ... ... is that right?

I will assume that is the case and proceed ...

Rudin, then writes:

"Suppose \(\displaystyle V_n\) has been constructed, so that \(\displaystyle V_n \cap P\) is not empty ... ... "My question is as follows:

Why does Rudin explicitly mention that he requires \(\displaystyle V_n\) to be constructed so that \(\displaystyle V_n \cap P\) is not empty?