Partial Differential Equations at university

In summary, the speaker is an Erasmus student in Vienna and is struggling with having to take Partial Differential Equations without completing the prerequisite courses, Differential Equations 1 and 2. They sought advice from their coordinator and another professor who advised them to replace Differential Equations 2 with Partial Differential Equations, but the speaker is finding it difficult to understand the subject. They are also taking other challenging courses and are questioning whether they should continue with Partial Differential Equations or focus on other aspects of their Erasmus experience. They mention the importance of gradually learning math and not jumping ahead without proper preparation.
Josecanto
Hi guys,

I am a Erasmus student in Vienna. Due to the difference between the plans in my home universtity and Vienna, I have to deal with having to take Parcial differential equations without having done Differential Equations 1 or 2.

In accordance with my university, I should take here Differential Equations 1 and 2, because we have them the same year... but here they have DE 2 in the first semester und DE 1 in the second semester.

I asked for advice to my coordinator and after having discuss with another professor they say me: "yes! the best option to replace Differential Equations 2 (without havind done 1) is Parcial differential equations, you only need some Functional Analysis..." in order take in the second semester DE 1