Parametrization in Complex Integration

In summary, parametrization in complex integration is a method that involves representing a curve as a function of a single variable, known as the parameter, to simplify the calculation of integrals over that curve. It is important because it allows us to solve complex integrals by reducing them to integrals over real variables and can be used for more complex curves and regions in the complex plane. The choice of parametrization depends on the shape of the curve and the complexity of the integral, and a complex parametrization has advantages over a real parametrization in terms of simplifying calculations. An example of parametrization in complex integration is the use of z = e^it to evaluate the integral of z^2 over the unit circle.
ColdFusion85
I have a complex analysis final exam on Wednesday, and I am studying the section on complex integration. I am having trouble seeing how to parametrize an equation.

"[tex]\Gamma[/tex] is the line segment from -4 to i"

In the homework solutions our TA said, "Parametrize [tex]\Gamma[/tex] by z = -4 +t(i+4), 0<t<1"

I know this is probably simple algebra stuff, but how would I determine this?

Physics news on Phys.org
The general parametric equation for a line from a point x to a point y is x+t(y-x). This is just standard geometry.

Related to Parametrization in Complex Integration

1. What is parametrization in complex integration?

Parametrization in complex integration is a method used to calculate integrals over curves in the complex plane. It involves representing the curve as a function of a single variable, known as the parameter, and then using this parameter to rewrite the integral in terms of real variables.

2. Why is parametrization important in complex integration?