P-subshell orbital of Hydrogen

In summary, the conversation discusses the surprise at the lack of spherically symmetric orbitals for Hydrogen atoms, despite the nucleus being spherically symmetric. It is explained that this is due to the excitation of the atom, which can break the spherical symmetry. It is also mentioned that a quantum superposition of orbitals can occur, but a measurement would collapse the superposition and introduce asymmetry. The example of planetary motion in classical mechanics is brought up to illustrate a similar concept.
cadamcross2
I'm trying to understand electron orbitals. I'm a beginner. I'm looking at the shapes of p orbitals in a chemistry book, and it's talking about Hydrogen. I'm surprised to see that the orbitals are not spherically symmetric. How can that be when the nucleus is spherically symmetric? Can a hydrogen atom with one electron be excited so that its electron is in one of these orbitals that are not spherically symmetric? If so, how? That would seem to suggest there is some preferred rectangular coordinate system on the hydrogen atom.

Physics news on Phys.org
It can depend on what caused the excitation. For instance, a photon has a direction of propagation and a polarization, which in effect break the spherical symmetry.

In a case where the spherical symmetry should be preserved, you have to consider that the electron will not be in a definite p orbital, but in an equal superposition of all three p orbitals. A bit of math should convince you that the sum of spherical harmonics
[tex] Y_{1,-1} (\theta, \phi) + Y_{1,0} (\theta, \phi) + Y_{1,1} (\theta, \phi)[/tex] leads to a probability distribution for the electron that is independent of [itex](\theta, \phi)[/itex].

I'm surprised to see that the orbitals are not spherically symmetric. How can that be when the nucleus is spherically symmetric?