Order of product of elements in a group

In summary, the conversation discussed the author's experience reading Milne's Group Theory and a proof about the order of product of elements in a finite group. It was mentioned that the proof involved images of elements in the quotient group $\text{SL}_2(\mathbb{F}_q)/\{\pm I\}$ and dividing the orders of certain elements by 2. A simpler proof for this fact was also requested. Advice was given to have a good understanding of basic algebra before studying Milne's monograph.
Arnold1
Hello.

I'm just beginning my course in algebra. I've been reading Milne, Group Theory ( http://www.jmilne.org/math/CourseNotes/GT310.pdf page 29).
I've found there a very nice proof of the fact that given two elements in a finite group, we cannot really say very much about their product's order. However, there are some things about the proof I do not quite understand. Namely - the first paragraph. What are the images of elements in \(\displaystyle SL_2(\mathbb{F}_q)/ \{+-I\}\) and why do we divide the orders of \(\displaystyle a, \ b, \ c\) by \(\displaystyle 2\)?

Is it because the centre(\(\displaystyle \{+-I\} \)) has order \(\displaystyle 2\) and thus by Lagrange's theorem, the order of the quotient group must be two times smaller?I would really appreciate a thorough explanation. Maybe you know a simpler proof of the fact (about the order of product of elements)?Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Arnold said:
Hello.

I'm just beginning my course in algebra. I've been reading Milne, Group Theory ( http://www.jmilne.org/math/CourseNotes/GT310.pdf page 29).