On leave from academia and in preparation for the job market

In summary, the conversation discusses a student in physics who has completed a masters degree and is having trouble finding a PhD position. They are considering giving up their hunt for a PhD and looking for a job outside of academia. The student has a strong background in fundamental and theoretical physics, as well as experience in research internships and coding. They are unsure about what type of job to pursue and are seeking advice on how to sell their profile and whether or not to create a profile on job-seeking websites. The conversation also mentions the difficulty of finding a PhD position and the uncertainty of the career path after obtaining a PhD.
lanis
Hi,

I am a student in physics who completed his masters (5 years degree) in physics (fundamental and theoretical physics) and didn't have any success in finding a PhD position since then. I am still waiting for an answer from my last opportunity in entering a PhD by next fall, but my history of failure forces me to be pessimistic. I'm considering now really seriously in giving up this hunt for a PhD, accept once and for all that my life in academia is over, and looking for a job outside of it.
Still, the job market is really obscure to me and I'd like to ask you advice about how to attack it with my background.
Synthetically, it looks like:
- my degree was inclined towards fundamental and even theoretical physics (EM, QM, statistical physics, numerical physics, non linear physics, mathematical tools for physicists, general relativity, lots of QFT: QCD, Electro-weak theory, Susy, CFT)
-4 research internships in experimental high energy physics and semi-conductor physics where I used a lot of C++, Qt (on my own I coded a full program of roughly 10,000 lines of code using both and directly useful to the experimenters), also Mathematica, MATLAB and COMSOL (model building and simulation). I'm also familiar with Python and PHP.