Omega being less than one in a flat Universe?

In summary, the conversation discusses the Friedmann equation and its implications for a flat universe. It is explained that when considering a flat universe, the density parameter Ω0 must be slightly smaller than 1 due to the presence of dark energy. The conversation also delves into the role of the Hubble parameter and the critical density in understanding the curvature of the universe. It is ultimately concluded that if Ωtotal is not equal to 1, then the curvature of the universe is non-zero.
TheTraceur
Hi everyone! I'm not very good at math as I'm in high school, and so probably did something wrong in this, but I did some calculations and am now wondering if a flat Universe requires Ω0 ≠ 1?

I started with the Friedmann equation,

gif.gif

If you divide by 3 and take the inverse of both sides, you get,

gif.gif

Since,

gif.gif

Where ρc is the critical density, we can re-write the equation in terms of Omega (I also multiplied both sides by c2),

gif.gif

Here it to me looks a bit odd, because here Omega being one does not correspond to a Universe with infinite radius of curvature, since you still have to cosmological constant, which is positive. Here it seems that if you want to assume that k = 0, and so have a flat Universe, you will need to have (since if R2/k, where k = 0, is 'infinite', then the other side must also be 'infinite'):

gif.gif

gif.gif

gif.gif

gif.gif

We then get:

gif.gif