Numerical integration in matlab

In summary, this code will calculate the arc length of a curve given its x, y, and d coordinates. It uses the trapezoid rule or Simpson's rule to do so, and can be moderately fast depending on the complexity of the curve. It can overestimate the area if the gradient is negative, and underestimate the area if the gradient is positive.
avaquake
i am very new in matlab. and i need to calculate the arc lengh. My equation is
arc length = integration of sqrt(d.*(k.^2-2).*sin(k.*t./2).^2 - d.*(k.^2-1).*sin(k.*t./2).^4 + 1); from 0 to 2.pi
where, d=(0:.1:1) and k=(0:1:10)

can anybody tell me whether it is possible to calculate this arc length using matlab. If possible can you suggest me the coding to write the script?

thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
avaquake said:
i am very new in matlab. and i need to calculate the arc lengh. My equation is
arc length = integration of sqrt(d.*(k.^2-2).*sin(k.*t./2).^2 - d.*(k.^2-1).*sin(k.*t./2).^4 + 1); from 0 to 2.pi
where, d=(0:.1:1) and k=(0:1:10)

can anybody tell me whether it is possible to calculate this arc length using matlab. If possible can you suggest me the coding to write the script?

thanks.

Welcome to PhysicsForums!

First off, are you integrating over k, or over t? Do you just want arclengths for different values of k?

Secondly, there are two ways of doing this: trapezoid rule, or with Simpson's rule.

Given a vector of x, and an array of y, you can use MATLAB's trapz function:
http://www.mathworks.com/access/helpdesk/help/techdoc/ref/trapz.html

With a function handle (see inside the documentation page for a link--think of it as an inline function), you can use the MATLAB quad function:
http://www.mathworks.com/access/helpdesk/help/techdoc/ref/quad.html

i am integrating with repest to t. and yes i want arclength for different values of k as well as d.
for example: when d=.1, k=1:1:10, this will give me 10 different value of arclength.