Normal Force While Going Up Stairs

In summary, the normal force exerted by stairs on a person moving up at a constant velocity is slightly higher than their weight, but this difference is due to the body's center of mass moving upwards. This force is transmitted through the body and converted into mechanical work, allowing the body to convert chemical energy into gravitational potential energy. This question can be tricky because the human body is not a rigid body and different parts may be moving at different speeds and directions. An example of this is a compressed spring and piston, where the force on the piston is initially equal to its weight, but once released, the force on the base of the spring increases due to the body's upward movement.
asb1230
In my high school physics class, we are doing an experiment where we go up a flight of steps, record the time it takes, and calculate the work done in the vertical direction. I understand everything (I am a pretty bright student) except one part that I simply cannot wrap my head around.

To calculate work, we use W = Fd, and to get F we use F = mg, finding our weight. I don't understand how we are moving upward if our normal force is equal to our weight. Isn't each person's normal force equal to their weight when they are just standing up without moving?

My teacher tried to explain it to me, and he said that our normal force is greater than our weight when we jump, which would be an upward velocity. When we climb stairs we have an upward velocity, so how can the normal force be equal to our weight? Thank you for helping!

Physics news on Phys.org
I think the calculations you are doing are leaving out the way people normally walk up stairs; one leg at a time.

Imagine if you didn't walk up one leg at a time. You would be jumping. So for the sake of the experiment, where work and energy are the issues being studied, you're ignoring the human body's design and function.