Newbie Converting a USb power to wall(110v)

• Thread starter dpwchanel
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Power Usb
In summary: If you are lucky, the fans will be 5Vdc; if not, chances are they are 12Vdc. The wall wart will be 110Vac on the input side, and the output side will have the +positive voltage and the -negative voltage. You will need to identify the polarity of the wires on the fan (red is almost always +positive, and black is usually -negative). The wall wart's wire will be marked with a stripe or some other sign for +positive. If you can't tell which is which, you can touch the wires to the fan and the fan will either spin or not.You will need to solder the wires from the fans to the wires from the wall wart
dpwchanel
Complete newbie to anything and everything but has a little bit of street smarts. sorry for wrong wording of any terms I use but hopefully you can get the gist of it.
OK so I'm building a custom laptop stand/ cooler device. I have made a wooden platform about 15 inches by 9 inches and stands about 5 inches tall. I have drilled six holes in it about 3 inches each in diameter for ventalation.
I have three little computer type fans that were inside of an Xbox 360 intercooler that I took apart cause it was loud as a freakin 1960 eras vehicle and I also heard reviews of it sucking too much power and ruining the 360. it has the red and black wires running from each fan to a main power area.(power and ground) I'm wondering what it would take to get the fans powered. I'm sure I could find a way to splice an old usb and mostly make it plug and play.(not too sure of that idea just a speculation) I would not really like to do it that way but if its a little easier I will consider it