Need Help with Understanding And Changing a Circuit Diagram

In summary: Please read ANY article on Li-ion charging. It's hard to believe you even posted here without bothering to read the most fundamental information.In summary, Dave is an electrical engineering student and does not know how to charge two batteries at once using the same charging mechanism. He found a link to an article on charging lithium ion batteries and was wondering if he could get help with understanding the circuitry. There is no one-size-fits-all answer to this question, as the circuitry will vary depending on the battery and the charging method being used.
BillyBobJoeseph
I am by NO means an electrical engineering student, so please explain it to me like I'm 5.
My friend sent me a circuit diagram and I don't know how it works/what it means, but basically I want to know if it's possible to charge 2 batteries at once instead of 1, using the same mechanism. If so, how would I?
Thanks!

Attachments

• I have no idea.png
    I have no idea.png
    4.5 KB · Views: 418
Engineering news on Phys.org
It's not even a complete diagram for charging 1 battery, much less 2.

What do you plan to connect as the "charging mechanism"?
What kind of batteries?
Is this a stand alone charger or do you have to charge while supplying power.

Describe a bit more about what you are actually trying to accomplish.

Well, I'm trying to learn some circuit 101 here that applies to my project.
Basically, what type of voltage regulation and circuitry would I have to incorporate to charge not only 1 battery, but two. Both would be lithium ion but of different voltages.

Charging batteries in parallel is not always a good idea and definitely not if they are different voltages. Lithium Ion are particularly fussy about the way they need to be charged. If you know as little as you claim then it could be dangerous for you to get involved. (That is not an overstatement.)