Need help manipulating Van der Walls Force

• Thread starter hemi426
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Force
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of charges in physics, particularly the attraction and repulsion between protons, electrons, and neutrons. The use of van der Waals force in electrostatic interactions between molecules is also mentioned. The conversation then shifts to the possibility of creating a practical device using electricity to induce repulsion between objects, without the use of van der Graff generators. A YouTube video of a young boy demonstrating such a device is shared, and the conversation ends with a request for information on how to create a similar device and where to purchase materials used in the gecko's foot for sticking to surfaces.
hemi426
Hi,
Its my first time so forgive me if I miss something.

I know a bit about physics. Protons +1, electrons -1, and neutrons have a charge of 0. Opposite charges attract and similar charges repel.
Van der waals force deals with electrostatic interactions between molecules.
We all know that a baloon rubbed on hair will "stick" because of a static charge. I am looking to do the same thing to objects but have them repel instead. The only catch is i need to do it in a more practical manner using electricity and it needs to be practicaly small in size (smaller than 2in^3 would be ideal) no van der graff generators:rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PYVTQ9GaxE&feature=channel_page
This video show a kid who created one and is using it to stick cards and other objects to the wall.

Does anyone know more about how to create one or where I can find out how to create one?

I am also interested in how a geckos foot uses van der waals forces to stick to almost any surface. It does this using lots of seta or little bristels each a few nanometers thick. Does anyone know where to buy a material like this?
thanks in advance:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Can anybody point me in the right direction?