NASA or GE Aviation: Which Job Offer Should I Choose?

• Thread starter Billwaa
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reality
In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of choosing between three job offers - one from GE Aviation, one from Lockheed Martin, and one from NASA. The person is torn between their dream of working for NASA and the practicality of choosing a stable job with GE Aviation or Lockheed Martin. The person is also worried about the financial burden and potential discrimination at NASA. They seek advice from others and are considering contacting a mentor for insight into working at NASA. Ultimately, there is no clear right decision and the person fears regretting whichever choice they make.
Billwaa
When I graduated college w/ honors in May with a BS MechE degree without a job offer I was upset and depress. I did co op with GE Aviation, research projects, got 3 minors, Dean's list... don't know what's wrong, been looking since start the of Fall.

Then this week, I suddenly got offers from GE Aviation and NASA. Lockheed Martin also told me they are getting me their offer ASAP. I was very happy initially, then now I am miserable choosing the correct path. I am actually loosing sleep, getting headache over this.

So here's the problem what I got.

-GE Aviation offer me a full time position with a very decent salary, bonuses, benefits and all. They offer to pay for grad school after hired.

-Lockheed Martin offer me a 6 months contract to work on making satellites. After that they might convert me to full time depends on my performance and business needs. The site is also very close to home so I can take care of my parents and younger siblings. They also offer to pay for grad school after I get converted to full time.