N00b question about understanding what formulas are

In summary: And you can use the constant acceleration equations when the acceleration is variable, but you have to use integration. You just have to use calculus, that's all.In summary, the conversation discusses the use and understanding of formulas in science and mathematics. The speaker expresses their eagerness to learn about formulas and their confusion when faced with complex equations. The conversation also delves into the role of calculus in understanding and manipulating formulas, as well as the need for strong fundamentals and practice in order to effectively use formulas. The conversation concludes with a clarification on the use of kinematic equations when acceleration is varying and the importance of using calculus to solve such equations.
Niaboc67
I am new to the world of Science & Mathematics but am eager to learn all I can. I go to my local library and open up books on the topic such as Physics, Engineering and Electronics and there are swathes of formulas all of which I don't understand. I stare at them wondering what keys they must hold, of which I am bewildered by. I try to understand but my mathematical understanding is up to only precalculus. What I want to know is if I have the general understanding of how formulas work down. Essentially in a formula you have some "variables" and some "numbers" and the variables are spots in which you can "fill-in" given data that you have. Like if you know what amount of electricity, physical force or weight of something you can just "plug-n-play" I know this is ultra simple way of putting it but this is my understanding so far. Are formulas essentially blueprints people painstakingly devised while using the information they gathered about the physical world around them and it's parameters and thus knowing them were able to gather up that data to form an "absolute proof" that would work for all possible combination of numbers/things thrown into the variable