Multivariable Calculus Project: Spacetime/Black Holes

In summary: Action, Lagrangian, Hamiltonian, and the electromagnetic field.Consider a rotating black hole in three-dimensional spacetime. Derive the equations of motion, and study the evolution of the particles near the black hole.
pmrotman
I am a student currently taking both Multivariable Calculus and Differential Equations. Instead of a final exam my teacher assigned a final project for Multivariable, and I chose to do something with Spacetime/Black holes. Within the scope of <100 hours of work, is there anything I can do with my current knowledge? At the moment I feel a bit overwhelmed with trying to learn Tensor calc.

Physics news on Phys.org
How much special relativity do you know? There's no shortage of interesting spacetime problems ieven in the flat spacetime of SR, before you get take on the much more demanding curved spacetime of general relativity and black holes.

How much classical mechanics and E&M do you know? Have you been through a calculus-based course on classical mechanics? You'll get better and more targeted answers if you can tell us more.

Likes pmrotman
You could try reading "Exploring black holes" by Taylor. It might not be hopelessly advanced, I think it has some workbooks/projects. I don't own it, unfortunately, though sample chapters are availble at the aurhtor's (E.F. Taylor) website.

Likes pmrotman
pervect said:
You could try reading "Exploring black holes" by Taylor. It might not be hopelessly advanced, I think it has some workbooks/projects. I don't own it, unfortunately, though sample chapters are availble at the aurhtor's (E.F. Taylor) website.
Thanks I'll check it out.

Nugatory said:
How much special relativity do you know? There's no shortage of interesting spacetime problems ieven in the flat spacetime of SR, before you get take on the much more demanding curved spacetime of general relativity and black holes.