Most useful (spoken) language to learn for a Nuclear Engineer?

In summary, the most useful spoken language for a nuclear engineer to learn is English. This is because English is the most commonly used language in the field of nuclear engineering, as it is the primary language used in international conferences and publications. Additionally, many of the top nuclear engineering programs and research institutions are located in English-speaking countries such as the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. Furthermore, English is the language of communication in many multinational companies that work on nuclear energy projects. Therefore, having a strong command of English can greatly benefit a nuclear engineer in their career and professional development.
PhilAnd095
Hello,

I'm a Nuclear Engineering undergrad at Penn State. Right now I'm considering to learn a foreign language so I will be able to communicate to other countries which have a considerable amount of nuclear resources (personnel and infrastructure). I have a few questions in regards to learning a second language:

1) Which foreign language would be the most useful for an English speaking Nuclear Engineer to learn?

2) How typically would someone go about learning a second language through a university?

3) What type of curriculum could I expect?

Thank you.
~Phillip

Physics news on Phys.org
Korean (North) good job opportunities, not much of a pension - same applies to Iran.

French - probably going to be making most of the reactors in Europe in the next couple of decades. Very nice place to work, the problem is that however well you speak french, the french won't speak to you - this is nothing personal, the same applies to anyone from Paris.

Japanese - the other big maker of reactors. Tricky language, they don't even have proper letters, fortunately everyone speaks English!