Money and Inflation: How to Protect Your Finances

In summary, inflation is a slow but steady rise in the cost of goods and services. It is usually a problem for people who are taking out large loans, because the interest on the loans will increase faster than the cost of goods and services. There are a few ways to try to beat inflation, such as investing in a CD or holding onto your money in a bank that is FDIC insured.
mattmns
I am no financial expert, but I keep hearing talk of inflation. Usually I would not care, but since I plan on taking advantage of the government, I thought I should look into it.

So here is the scenario. I will be receiving as much as possible of $17,500 over the next two years in student loans, but I do not plan on spending it. Now my question is: What should I do with my money to make sure it does not lose any value due to inflation? Do banks keep your money up with inflation? How about bonds/securities? Thanks, any help would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
mattmns said:
So here is the scenario. I will be receiving as much as possible of $17,500 over the next two years in student loans, but I do not plan on spending it. Now my question is: What should I do with my money to make sure it does not lose any value due to inflation? Do banks keep your money up with inflation? How about bonds/securities? Thanks, any help would be appreciated.

Assuming you will have to repay the loans, you want to invest the money in something that will appreciate faster than the interest on your loans. A bank account won't do that; the banks MAKE loans, that's how they make money! are they going to pay their depositors more than the themselves will make? How then would they show a profit?

BTW how do you get off being able to treat student loans as capital? Isn't this breaking some law?