Modeling a multi-story building using Ansys Apdl 14.5

In summary, the individual is new to Ansys and looking for help on how to model a multi-storey building using only Ansys software. They have considered importing a geometry file from another source, but have not specified which source. The individual's question has been answered.
comfortmensah
Hello I am new to Ansys and currently conducting a study on ''property of lightweight structures'' I have read and watched videos online but nobody has the tutorials...i'm hoping someone here can help me on how to model a multi-storey building using Ansys...I hope this post makes sense. Thanks

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Creating the geometric representation of a building using just Ansys APDL will be quite an undertaking, since you would be creating potentially hundreds of beams/spars. Have you considered importing a geometry file from another source?

Mech_Engineer said:
Creating the geometric representation of a building using just Ansys APDL will be quite an undertaking, since you would be creating potentially hundreds of beams/spars. Have you considered importing a geometry file from another source?

Hey thanks for the reply..but what other source would you recommend?

Is the building already designed in some CAD tool? What kind of analysis are you looking to perform on said building?

Mech_Engineer said:
Is the building already designed in some CAD tool? What kind of analysis are you looking to perform on said building?
Mech_Engineer said:
The building will be designed in ansys...am using only ansys software to design and my question is how do i model the building step by step..but hey my question have been answered. Thanks a lot

Related to Modeling a multi-story building using Ansys Apdl 14.5

1. What is Ansys Apdl 14.5 and why is it used for modeling a multi-story building?