Misinterpretation of Newton's Third Law

In summary, the weight and normal reaction force acting on a man standing on the ground are not an action-reaction pair of forces, as they both act on the same body and do not have equal and opposite directions. The action-reaction pairs in this scenario are the force of the man on the ground and the force of the ground on the man, and the weight of the man and the gravitational force from the man on the Earth.
Kyoma

Homework Statement

A man standing on the ground is subjected to 2 forces : weight and normal reaction force. Do they form an action-reaction pair of forces? (That's Newton's Third Law).

I put yes, but I was wrong. I don't get it. I'm new to Newton's Third Law.

Physics news on Phys.org
Kyoma said:

Homework Statement

A man standing on the ground is subjected to 2 forces : weight and normal reaction force. Do they form an action-reaction pair of forces? (That's Newton's Third Law).

I put yes, but I was wrong. I don't get it. I'm new to Newton's Third Law.

You were distracted by the two forces being equal in magnitude and opposite in direction.

To show that those forces do NOT make a 3rd law couple, all you have to do is put a back pack on the man.
The man himself is no heavier, but the Normal reaction force will now be greater.

Another way is to show they are not a 3rd Law couple is to have the man stand on an incline. Then the normal force won't be in the opposite direction to the weight force [and hopefully a friction force has appeared to stop him slipping over]

Finally, both those forces you mentioned act on the man. For Newtons 3rd law couple the two forces act on different bodies.

The man pushes down on the floor - the floor pushes up on the man.

The Earth pulls the man down - the man pulls the Earth up.

generally the pairs can be described as

Body A acts on Body B - Body B acts on Body A