Minimizing Aphi' + Bcos(phi) in [0,L] w/ phi(0)=0

In summary, the problem is to find a function for x in [0,L] that minimizes this: \int_0^{L} A \phi(x) \frac{ d \phi(x) }{dx} + B cos(\phi(x))\ d\mbox{x}
dirk_mec1
I'm trying to find a function for x in [0, L] that minimizes this:

[tex] \int_0^{L} A \phi(x) \frac{ d \phi(x) }{dx} + B cos(\phi(x))\ d\mbox{x} [/tex]

For real (given) positve numbers A and B.

with
[itex] \phi(0) = 0 [/itex]
[itex] \phi(x) [/itex] is an increasing positve function.

Can somebody point me in the right direction?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Sounds like a calculus of variations problem.

I'm no expert, but the principal thing to do would be to find the Euler-Lagrange equation for [itex]\phi(x)[/itex]. The solution (or solutions) to that equation will be the function which minimizes that integral.

I don't exactly know how to do this, but if you look at the Wikipedia article on the calculus of variations, and go down to the section on the Euler-Lagrange equation, you should find some useful tips there.

Yes I get the zero function then but that is not what I am looking for.

the Euler-Lagrange equation only has zero as a solution?

Yes I get the zero function then but that is not what I am looking for.

[tex] \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi } = A \frac{d \phi}{dx} -C sin ( \phi(x)) [/tex]

[tex] \frac{d}{dx } \left( \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi' } \right) = A \frac{d \phi}{dx} [/tex]

[tex] \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi } - \frac{d}{dx } \left( \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi' } \right) = C sin ( \phi(x)) = 0 [/tex]

well that sure is interesting...

How do you know that the zero function isn't actually the solution you're looking for?

Also, since you're integrand doesn't depend explicitly on [itex]x[/itex], you can try the simplified Euler Lagrange equation instead:
[itex]L-\frac{\partial L}{\partial \phi}\frac{d \phi}{d x} = const[/itex].
Here, that would translate to