Method of exhaustion for the area of a parabolic segment (Apostol)

In summary, the conversation is about a forum member using Apostol's Calculus Vol. 1 to refresh and advance their math skills while on exchange. They express their gratitude for the resource and the people who answer questions. They also ask for help with finding the area for the function ax^2 + c using the method shown in the book. The expert suggests using the fact that (kb/n)^2 = (k^2b^2)/n^2 to simplify the expression and find the area. They also wish the forum member luck on their academic journey and remind them to enjoy their beer responsibly.
privyet

Homework Statement

Hi all, I'm starting from page one of Apostol's Calculus Vol. 1 (ed. 2) to try and refresh and advance my maths while I'm on exchange and can't take maths courses. I'm an economics undergrad but I'm planning on switching to Maths/Computer Science if I can show myself I've got it in me. If I study this book like I intend to over the next 6 months I'm going to have a whole lot of questions, so I'd like to say in advance how grateful I am that a resource like this exists and that there are people who spend their time answering these questions.

From the exercises 1.4 1.e)

This is a very simple question but it's difficult to write all the necessary bits out on the computer. I have a feeling I probably don't really need to but just in case...

We are shown that for the function f(x)=x[tex]^{2}[/tex] the area of the rectangles used to find the area is given by (b/n)(kb/n)2 = (b3/n3)k2, where b/n is the constant length of the base and (kb/n)2 is the length of the rectangle (ie. the y-value) at the point kb/n.

We are also shown that 12 + 22 + ... + (n-1)2 < n3/3 < 12 + 22 + ... + (n)2 and that multiplying all sides by (b3/n3)k2 gives us sn < b3/3 < Sn, telling us that therefore the area = B3/3

Question 1. e) from Exercises 1.4 asks to find use the same method to find the Area for the function ax2 + c

The Attempt at a Solution