Medical Physics Career: Advice on Classes & Programs

In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's interest in pursuing a career in medical physics and their past education in business. They inquire about the recommended courses for a master's program in medical physics and ask for suggestions on schools with good programs. The response advises checking the CAMPEP website for program prerequisites and suggests that a CAMPEP accredited program should be the first choice. They also mention a list of recommended courses and the possibility of future requirements for board certification. The individual expresses gratitude for the list provided.
starchild75
I am considering medical physics for a career. I got a two year degree in business about 10 years ago, and I have looked around at programs on the internet. Some masters programs recommend taking organic chemistry as an undergrad student. Others just say you have to take a certain number of physics classes. Can you give me your opinions on what classes to take, and also which schools have good masters programs.

thanks

starchild75

Physics news on Phys.org
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=106714"

If you check the websites for the programs listed in the CAMPEP website, they should provide a list of the prerequisites, or at least a contact person you can talk to about course prerequisites. That will be your best bet to figure out what courses you need to take. Requirements will vary from program to program, but generally you will need at least EM, nuclear physics, mechanics, anatomy, physiology, stats, some linear algebra, and a little QM. A course in electronics probably wouldn't hurt either.

A CAMPEP accredited program should be your first choice. I expect in the not so distant future the ABR will make it a requirement for taking the board certification exam.

Last edited by a moderator: