Matrices Often Used in Quantum Computing

In summary, the conversation discusses a study on quantum computing and the intersection of mathematics, physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. The topic also covers the implementation of a quantum computer simulator and the inclusion of Shor and Grover algorithms, with the intention of adding more in the future. Furthermore, the conversation touches on the use of Phase and pi/8 gates in the simulator. A link to the source code for the simulator is also provided.
Ackbach
Gold Member
MHB
I am beginning a study I have long wanted to engage in: quantum computing. This is a field lying at the intersection of mathematics, physics, computer science, and electrical engineering - all topics I studied, to varying levels. From time to time, I plan on posting notes and summaries that might prove useful to others studying the same thing. Without further ado:

$$\begin{array}{|c|c|c|c|c|c|} \hline
\textbf{Name} &\textbf{Matrix} &A^{\dagger}A=I? &A=A^{\dagger}? &\textbf{E-values} &\textbf{Norm. E-vectors} \\
\hline
\text{Hadamard} &H=\dfrac{1}{\sqrt{2}}\begin{bmatrix}1 &1\\1 &-1\end{bmatrix} &\text{Yes} &\text{Yes}
&1,\; -1 &\dfrac{1}{\sqrt{4-2\sqrt{2}}}\begin{bmatrix}1 \\ \sqrt{2}-1\end{bmatrix}, \;
\dfrac{1}{\sqrt{4+2\sqrt{2}}}\begin{bmatrix}1 \\ -\sqrt{2}-1\end{bmatrix} \\ \hline
\text{Pauli }X &X=\begin{bmatrix}0 &1\\1 &0\end{bmatrix} &\text{Yes} &\text{Yes} &1, \; -1
&\dfrac{1}{\sqrt{2}}\begin{bmatrix}1\\1\end{bmatrix}, \; \dfrac{1}{\sqrt{2}}
\begin{bmatrix}1\\-1\end{bmatrix} \\ \hline
\text{Pauli }Y &Y=\begin{bmatrix}0&-i\\i&0\end{bmatrix} &\text{Yes} &\text{Yes}
&1, \; -1 &\dfrac{1}{\sqrt{2}}\begin{bmatrix}1\\i\end{bmatrix}, \; \dfrac{1}{\sqrt{2}}
\begin{bmatrix}1\\-i\end{bmatrix} \\ \hline
\text{Pauli }Z &Z=\begin{bmatrix}1&0\\0&-1\end{bmatrix} &\text{Yes} &\text{Yes}
&1, \; -1 &\begin{bmatrix}1\\0\end{bmatrix}, \; \begin{bmatrix}0\\1\end{bmatrix} \\ \hline