[matlab] something wrong with my code

• MATLAB
  • Thread starter Ann_Hope
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Code Matlab
In summary, the conversation is about a person new to using MATLAB/Scilab who wants to create a 3D surface using a specific equation. They encountered an error message when trying to input the equation and asked for help. Another person suggested using the "mesh" function and provided an example from the MATLAB website with some comments explaining the code.
Ann_Hope
Hi all
I'm new to matlab/scilab. I want to draw a 3D surface using z = cos(x+y)*cos(3x-y)+cos(x-y)*sin(x+3y)+5e^(x2+y2)/8

I typed "Z=cos(x+y)*cos(3*x-y)+cos(x-y)*sin(x+3*y)+5*exp(-(x.^2+y.^2)/8);" into matlab, but is says "Inconsistent multiplication".

I would appreciate anyone who could help me check the problem and give me an advice.

Thanks all!

Physics news on Phys.org
a) how have you defined X and Y
b) I'd use mesh:

example said:
figure
[X,Y] = meshgrid(-8:.5:8); %<------------HERE they define X and Y
R = sqrt(X.^2 + Y.^2) + eps;
Z = sin(R)./R;
mesh(X,Y,Z) %<-----------THIS is the MATLAB function that turns all those values into a visual plot
example from http://www.mathworks.com/help/techdoc/ref/mesh.html with comments by me

Related to [matlab] something wrong with my code

1. Why am I getting an error when running my code?

There could be a few reasons for this. First, check for any typos or syntax errors in your code. If there are none, then the error could be due to a mistake in your logic or a missing variable declaration. It's also possible that there is an issue with your installation of MATLAB or with the version you are using. Try updating or reinstalling MATLAB to see if that solves the problem.

2. How can I debug my code?