Matlab, plotting a directional field

In summary, the conversation is about plotting the direction field for the differential equation y' = -t(y^2 - 0.5y - 0.5) using the line() function in MATLAB. The length of each line should be 0.1 and the spacing should be 0.25 units in t and y. The speaker is a beginner and is unsure of how to use the line() and plot() functions to create a directional field. They also mention the dfield extension, but are unsure of how to use it. They are seeking guidance on the proper format for entering the equation and coordinates.
javaistheman

Homework Statement

Plot the direction field of y' = −t(y 2 − .5y − .5) for t=[0,5] and y=[-2,2]. Plot a line every 0.25 units in t and y. The length of each line should be 0.1. Hint: Use line(). Look at the picture to determine the starting and ending coordinates of each line.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

So I'm a big time beginner in anything related to programming. I'm in a MATLAB class right now with no prior experience at all, and the resources given don't talk about directional fields at all.

I know the line function goes in the format line(X,Y) with X and Y being the coordinates (0, 1 as default). The problem statement says to use this but I'm not sure how to use it to define the length and spacing.

I know there's a plot function also, where you can plug in certain defined lines to make the plot. Once again, I don't know how that ties into a directional field.

I know this website doesn't like when somebody is clueless and not on the verge of figuring the problem out, but all I ask is for some guidance on what the functions are that I'll be using for this. Is there a specific directional field function to use or is it a combination of multiple line functions? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

engr231_zpsok907aep.png

Physics news on Phys.org