Mathematics with engineering electives

In summary: So if you do not have an engineering degree then you will not be able to take any of the engineering courses.
wamozart
I am a student who is interested in both mathematics and engineering. I want to pursue a degree in mathematics, but because of its relatively small job prospects, I wish to take some engineering electives.
However, I have a strong feeling that, unlike actuarial positions, engineering positions almost always require a specific degree in engineering (or a license or something). So I was wondering if taking engineering electives, but specialize in a particular concentration (e.g. only taking Heat Transfer & Thermodynamics courses as opposed to taking all mechnical engineering core courses), will enhance the chance of getting a job at a company that specilize in Heat Transfer & Thermodynamics. Or do most Heat Transfer & Thermodynamics companys expect you to know broad knowledge in mechanical engineering?

Physics news on Phys.org
I would first check with the universities you are considering. Pretty much all courses have prerequisites, so you might not be able to take Heat Transfer without taking 1st year mechanics for example.

Secondly, you will be competing against mechanical engineering majors who have taken many more applied classes, and have most likely partaken in engineering projects in school.

MECHster said:
I would first check with the universities you are considering. Pretty much all courses have prerequisites, so you might not be able to take Heat Transfer without taking 1st year mechanics for example.

Secondly, you will be competing against mechanical engineering majors who have taken many more applied classes, and have most likely partaken in engineering projects in school.

I have checked prerequisites and it turns out to be there is only one engineering calculus course is required of which most of its materials are presumably covered by taking calculus for math majors.