"Mathematics" book for revising/studying

In summary, the conversation revolves around the topic of finding a good calculus book with practical applications for the purpose of studying physics. Various books are suggested, such as "Calculus for the Practical Man," "Apostol's Calculus," "Spivak's Calculus," and "Courant's Calculus." The participants also discuss the importance of calculus and share their personal experiences with studying the subject. Ultimately, "Advanced Calculus" by Wood is mentioned as a potential option due to its focus on classical mechanics and the recommendation of Richard Feynman.
dRic2
Hi,

I've taken calculus during my engineering degree (that I'm still attending) two years ago. At that time I didn't realize the importance of calculus (and also linear algebra) so I studied it superficially. I think I'm quite good though because I had to use my calculus knowledge in all the other courses, but but I was sticking to the essential minimum of knowledge. Recently I got very interested in physics so I started studying more and this implied revising my calculus skills. I think I improved a lot in calculus/algebra in the last months but I still find it terribly boring (my fault I know). I was wondering if some of you have any suggestion for a book that will help me revise and maybe go further that is kind of "fun" (with examples and applications) so that I can read it/study in the free time. "Calculus for the practical man" is very much what I was looking for but it is a bit under my level of skill. I read I few pages and I don't think I'm going to get much out it.

Physics news on Phys.org
I was recommended Apostol's Calculus here. Later, I heard several seniors and professors disapprove of it as overrated, which is why I didn't go through it, though I have both the volumes.

Another book is by Spivak, but I couldn't buy it because of high cost.

Thank you! Did a quick research and I probably prefer the one by Spivak.
Wrichik Basu said: