Mathematical Foundations of Quantum Physics for High School Students

In summary: Thanks mate, good luck to you too, you're already learning multi-variable calculus at 15. I'm only learning like basic calculus. You got a bright future man :)
KJB
Hi, I am a 16 year old high school student. I am really interested in Maths and its my passion.

I am also really interested in Quantum Physics and I would just like to know a list of what type of Maths (eg. Differential Calculus) I would need to learn to understand it.

I just need a list so I can learn it in my spare time.

Thanks,
KJB

Physics news on Phys.org
Definitely differential equations, both ordinary and partial. Orthogonal functions, Fourier transforms, complex variables, and a mastery of linear algebra. That will get you ready to tackle it.

I'm 15 and only doing multi-variable calculus, and physics. If you think you can tackle quantum mechanics in your spare time it might take a few years first (iff you're a prodigy you'll probably be able to do it).

Cbray said:
I'm 15 and only doing multi-variable calculus, and physics. If you think you can tackle quantum mechanics in your spare time it might take a few years first (iff you're a prodigy you'll probably be able to do it).

Yeah I'm not extremely smart but I'm looking at doing it for college/university so I am just trying to learn a bit of the math to give me a little bit of a head start.

KJB said:
Yeah I'm not extremely smart but I'm looking at doing it for college/university so I am just trying to learn a bit of the math to give me a little bit of a head start.

Me too, I'm interested in theoretical physics, I'll either go into theoretical astrophysics, or theoretical particle physics. Good luck

Cbray said:
Me too, I'm interested in theoretical physics, I'll either go into theoretical astrophysics, or theoretical particle physics. Good luck